The MIMAROPA Regional Development Council (RDC), together with the Department of Budget and Management (DBM) MIMAROPA, conducted Sectoral Budget Consultations for fiscal year (FY) 2015 on Feb. 25 – 28, 2014 at Classroom B, 3rd floor DCIEC Building, NIA Complex, Quezon City.

In line with the guidelines and procedures provided under DBM’s National Budget Memorandum (NBM) No. 120 dated Jan. 6, 2014, agency regional offices (AROs), bureaus, government-owned and controlled corporations, state universities and colleges (SUCs) of the MIMAROPA Region presented their respective budget proposals for FY 2015. The consultations were intended to review the status of the proposed FY 2014 budget; provide information to Local Government Units (LGUs) on the preparation of FY 2015 budget; and identify priority programs and projects for the FY 2015.

The FY 2015 Budget Proposals were presented and reviewed according to sector, held on the following dates: Sectoral Committee on Social Development (SCSD), February 25; Sectoral Committee on Infrastructure Development (SCID), February 26; Sectoral Committee on Macroeconomy and Development Administration (SCMDA), February 27; and Sectoral Committee on Economic Development (SCED), February 28. AROs and SUCs were given 10 minutes to present their budget to the review panel composed of RDC Officials, DBM, NEDA and the Private Sector Representatives (PSRs).

Among the agencies which presented their proposals were Department of Health – CHD, National Nutrition Council (NNC), Department of Social Welfare and Development (DWSD), National Commission on Indigenous People (NCIP), Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA), Population Commission (POPCOM), Department of Education (DepEd), Commission on Higher Education (CHED), National Youth Commission (NYC) and the different MIMAROPA State Universities and Colleges (SUCs) under the SCSD; Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH), Department of Transportation and Communications (DOTC), Philippine Ports Authority (PPA), Maritime Industry Authority (MARINA) and National Power Corporation (NPC-SPUG) under the SCID; Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG), Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE), DBM, Philippine National Police (PNP), National Police Commission (NAPOLCOM), Office of Civil Defense (OCD), Philippine Information Agency (PIA) and RDC under the SCMDA; Department of Agriculture (DA), Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), Department of Tourism (DOT) Environmental Management Bureau (EMB), Mines and Geosciences Bureau (MBG), Department of Science and Technology (DOST), Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR), and Philippine Coconut Authority (PCA), under the SCED.

The FY 2015 list of priority programs, projects and activities identified by the AROs and SUCs in their respective budget proposals will be endorsed by the sectoral committees during the 46th RDC Full Council Meeting on March 10, 2014.

Also present during the consultations were representatives from the Philippine Statistics Authority – National Statistics Office (PSA-NSO), Civil Service Commission (CSC), Armed Forces of the Philippines, Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP), Housing and Land Use Regulatory Board (HLURB), Local Water Utilities Administration (LWUA) and National Intelligence Coordinating Agency (NICA).