Republic Act 10879 establishing the Southwestern Tagalog to be known as the MIMAROPA Region was enacted on 17 July 2016, in accordance with Article VI, Section 27 (1) of the Philippine Constitution.

RA 10879 establishes the MIMAROPA Region comprising the provinces and cities of Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Marinduque, Romblon, Palawan, Puerto Princesa City, and Calapan City.

The National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA), in coordination with the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), shall formulate and promulgate the necessary rules and regulations for the establishment of the regional center.